Want to sell a used Mac at a high price? In order to be able to sell your Mac in a ‘new’ state when it is marketed to potential buyers, you need to do a few important things. You need to take these steps to secure the data you store on your Mac so you don’t lose it. In addition, the condition of the Mac will return to like ‘new’ so it can be offered at a high price. For that, you can do 5 tips that can be done before selling a used Mac.
1. Back up data from Mac
How long have you been using a Mac? If you’ve been using a Mac for a long time, there’s bound to be a variety of personal information, documents, apps, games and favorite playlists in it. So that all the data is not lost, the first step you have to do before selling your Mac is to move the data by means of backups.
You can use Disk Utility to create a copy of the data from your MacBook that you can easily transfer back to your new Mac.
2. Transfer personal data to a new Mac
As a Mac user, it’s best if you move the data from the old Mac before the old MacBook is sold. This is safer because you can make sure all data is not left behind. When moving data, you can use the Migration Assistant which can be used automatically to move data from an old Mac via a local network connection.
3. Deactivate account on old Mac
What accounts do you access using a Mac? Usually, your iTunes, email and social media accounts are already integrated into the Mac. Therefore, you need to sever the authorization of the account and storage device.
The most important thing is to sign out of iTunes and iCloud. That way, your data and accounts will not be accessible to future Mac users.
4. Erase all personal data and information using Recovery HD
Before doing this step, you need to make sure that all the data on your Mac is backed up. This process will erase the startup drive so that the Mac that is to be resold as ‘new’ goes through the reformatting process.
The Recovery HD menu can be accessed when you’ve restarted your Mac by pressing Command+R until you see the Apple logo appear on the screen. After that you will see a menu list of settings you want to do, select Recovery HD drive. After the boot process using the Recovery HD partition is complete, you will see the macOS Utilities > Disk Utility menu, then all data will be permanently deleted.
5. Prepare a copy of macOS for new users
You can do this step by continuing the data format process using Recovery HD. From the menu window, you can select the Reinstall macOS menu, then click the Continue button to continue the desired MacOS installation process.
6. Deauthorize MacBook from Apple Music
Apple allows each user to authorize up to five devices per Apple ID for the Apple Music app. Authorization essentially gives the device access to all the content available in an Apple Music account.
If you sell a MacBook without deauthorizing it, you’ll have one less device to authorize your account. Plus, new MacBook owners will be able to access all of your content.
7. Disable File Vault
File Vault is a feature that encrypts all the information on your MacBook. This is meant to prevent hackers from stealing, hacking data, or gaining access to your device.
If you previously encrypted the contents of the file, you should disable it. If you don’t do this, the MacBook will ask for a password, preventing the new owner from setting up their MacBook.
8. Disconnect all accessories
If you’re using Bluetooth devices with your MacBook, it’s a good idea to unplug everything. This is especially important if you want to sell your device to a friend or family member you spend a lot of time with. If you are having trouble selling your old macbook, you can try to sell it on MacBack. A website that helps you to sell various types of mac. Otherwise, the device will accidentally connect to the old device.
How to do it:
- Click the Apple icon at the top left, then click System Preferences.
- Select Bluetooth and you will see a list of paired devices.
- Hover over each and click the delete button (x) to disconnect.
By following the steps above, you can sell your Mac in a ‘new’ state without leaving any traces of data for new users. Even though it’s a bit complicated, you can try it yourself right?